

## FRIENDS OF THE SETTLE-CARLISLE LINE

Settle Railway Station, Station Road Settle, North Yorkshire, BD24 9AA

President: The Right Hon. Michael Portillo

**Vice-Presidents**: Lord Inglewood DL; The Bishop of Carlisle; Edward Album; Olive Clarke OBE, JP,DL; Ann Cryer; David Curry, Douglas Hodgins; Philip Johnston; Eric Martlew; Richard Morris; Mark Rand; Pete Shaw; Ken Shingleton; Brian Sutcliffe

MBE; David Ward.

Chairman: Paul Brown - <a href="mailto:chairman@settle-carlisle.com">chairman@settle-carlisle.com</a>
Secretary: Paul Kampen - <a href="mailto:paul.kampen@googlemail.com">paul.kampen@googlemail.com</a>

74 Springfield Road, Baildon, Shipley, West Yorkshire, BD17 5LX

## **FRIENDS of the SETTLE-CARLSLE LINE**

## **DENT STATION APPEAL**

# 24th October 2020

#### 1. Purchase of Station

As advised to members, the Friends have purchased Dent Station, comprising the main station building and the immediately surrounding area. This is a very exciting transaction and adds another station on the Settle-Carlisle Line to those already in the family, owned by the S&C Trust's Property Company. These are, as well known, Ribblehead, Horton-in-Ribblesdale and Kirkby Stephen. The Station Building at Dent, the highest station in England, went on sale with limited notice and there was considerable competition for it. We were very pleased to be the preferred bidder.

• In addition to the basic objective which is the maintenance and preservation of the building, the station will be used for holiday accommodation and this will be a very pleasant opportunity for members and others, and a useful source of income for future maintenance.

The present appeal is very important. We are aiming to raise £250,000 in order to restore a major part of the Friends' funds and facilitate future projects for the direct benefit of the Line. These could include exhibition facilities at Appleby, works relating to the former Waiting Shelter at Cumwhinton, further works and facilities at Dent Station, and improvements to the Folly Building at Settle.

#### 2. Objective

Dent Station Building has been very well restored in true Midland Railway style by the former owner, Robin Hughes, but it is now in need of some important repairs and, being a Grade 2 Listed Building, will need continuing attention.

The purchase was proposed by the S&C Trust but has necessarily been carried out by the Friends with its own resources in view of the substantial amount required and in the light of two major legacies received by the Friends. The total cost is £363,500, with expenses.

#### 3. The Appeal

Out of a total target of £250,000, we hope to raise up to £150,000 by this direct appeal to our own 3,000 members and also to the general public who have shown strong support and enthusiasm for the Line as we can see from our Website and other communications.

We ask our members and other contributors to consider generous donations in the region of £50.00 or up to £100.00 or more, if this is possible. If two-thirds of our 3,000 members could donate an average of £50.00 each, some with more, this could give us £100,000. Donations from other individual sources may give us another £50,000. Please be as generous as possible so that the Friends' objectives and future plans can be supported.

We hope also to obtain contributions from Trusts which have supported the S&C in the past. These Trusts have become very valuable contributors. We believe we have fully justified the funding they have provided by the work the S&C family have done to preserve the stations and other structures on the Line and to improve facilities at them.

## 4. Guide for Donors

We plan to use the deposit account of the Friends to receive donations, made for this Appeal.

Please see the attached form for ways in which contributions can be made. This gives all necessary details. We will write individually and personally to the grant-making Trusts who have previously supported us and to other potential external donors.

We thank all concerned in advance for the support which you may give to us.

With regards from the Appeal Committee.

Paul Brown Allison Cosgrove Richard Morris

Chairman Vice-Chairman Webmaster and former Chairman